Tuesday 19 March 2019

HSBC Scratch Challenge 2014 winners

Golfer Danny Holland won the HSBC Scratch Challenge Cup 2014 held at the Royal Malta Golf Club (RMGC). J.J. Micallef and Andy Borg followed closely in second and third place respectively.

The HSBC Kinnard Centenary, played in the same weekend, was won by Hans Klotz with Jean Pierre Awad in second place.

HSBC Scratch Challenge winner Danny Holland was awarded two VIP tickets to the Open Championships in Hoylake Liverpool to be held July 2014.

“Over the last years, the overall standard at RMGC has risen dramatically as new young golfers take their positions. This year undoubtedly had the most enthralling finish of any Scratch Competition in recent memory, ending with possibly one of the most dramatic play-off this golf club has ever seen,” said RMGC’s Captain John Fletcher.

The Scratch Trophy, sponsored by HSBC Bank Malta plc for the last four years, is a two day competition played without handicap amongst the best golfers at the Royal Malta Golf Club. Founded in 1891, the Scratch Challenge is a prestigious golf competition based on an individual aggregate 36-hole medal played off scratch.

Powered by